Artists I did not know existed

30 01 2009

I’m on an artist-storming session fed by my insatiable desire to find something new each day.
What I’ve found so far today is
Kara Walker who apparently was among the 100 most influential people in the world by Time Magazine and nobody told me. Basically she does lots of silhouette work illustrating social and polical issues and quite a lot is about slavery and plantation work in the South of the US.

karawalker
Then I have Albert Namatjira who was an Aboriginal painter who died in 1959. For most of his life could not manage his own affairs as most Aborigines were not Australian citizens until the late 60s but wards of state. Which seems unbelievable now but I’m talking of only a few decades ago. He was one of the Aborigines to have citizenship.

albert_namatjira

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

